Please click the course number (first column) for detailed information including prerequisites.

The course schedule may change every year. Please check the timetable for the latest information.

Internal users (log in required) can access through the Student Information Portal

Course Sort descending Title Term Credits Course Coordinator Notes
A101 Adaptive Systems 3 2 Kenji Doya
A103 Stochastic Processes with Applications 3 2 Simone Pigolotti Students must install the Jupyter notebook
A104 Vector and Tensor Calculus 1 2 Eliot Fried Alternate years course, odd years alternates with A112
A105 Nonlinear Waves: Theory and Simulation 2 2 Emile Touber
A106 Computational Mechanics 3 2 Marco Edoardo Rosti
A107 Lie Algebras 1 2 Liron Speyer Alternate years course: AY2024
A108 Partial Differential Equations 3 2 Qing Liu
A110 Measure Theory and Integration 1 2 Xiaodan Zhou Alternate years course: AY2025
A111 Nonlinear Time Series Analysis and Manifold Learning 3 2 Gerald Pao Alternate years course: AY2023
A112 Introduction to the Calculus of Variations 2 2 Eliot Fried Alternate years course, even years alternates with A104
A113 Brain Computation 3 2 Kenji Doya
A115 Partial Differential Equations II 2 2 Ugur Abdulla
A203 Advanced Optics 2 2 Síle Nic Chormaic Alternate years course: AY2024 Enrollment cap of 8 students
A205 Quantum Field Theory 3 2 Shinobu Hikami
A208 Bioorganic Chemistry 2 2 Fujie Tanaka
A209 Ultrafast Spectroscopy 3 2 Keshav M. Dani Enrollment cap of 8 students
A211 Advances in Atomic Physics 2 2 Síle Nic Chormaic Alternate years course, AY2025 Enrollment cap of 8 students
A212 Microfluidics 3 2 Amy Shen Course not offered AY2023-AY2025
A213 Inorganic Electrochemistry 1 2 Julia Khusnutdinova
A214 Nucleic Acid Chemistry and Engineering 2 2 Yohei Yokobayashi
A218 Condensed Matter Physics 2 2 Yejun Feng
A219 General Relativity 1 2 Yasha Neiman Alternate years course, AY2025
A220 New Enzymes by Directed Evolution 1 2 Paola Laurino Enrollment cap of 8
A221 Relativistic Mechanics and Classical Field Theory 1 2 Yasha Neiman Alternate years course, AY2024
A223 Quantum Materials Science 3 2 Yoshinori Okada
A224 The Earth System 3 2 Satoshi Mitarai Course not offered AY2024-AY2026
A225 Statistical Mechanics, Critical Phenomena and Renormalization Group 1 2 Reiko Toriumi
A226 Synthetic Chemistry for Carbon Nanomaterials 3 2 Akimitsu Narita
A227 Quantum Engineering – Simulation and Design 3 2 Jason Twamley
A228 Quantum Many-body Physics 1 2 Philipp Höhn
A229 Statistical Fluctuations and Elements of Physical Kinetics 2 2 Denis Konstantinov
A230 Quantum Optics for Qubits 3 2 Hiroki Takahashi
A231 Quantum Information and Communication Theory 2 2 David Elkouss
A233 Stability Analysis of Nonlinear Systems 2 2 Mahesh Bandi Alternate years course, AY2024
A303 Developmental Biology 2 2 Ichiro Masai
A304 Evolutionary Developmental Biology 3 2 Noriyuki Satoh
A306 Neuroethology 1 2 Yoko Yazaki-Sugiyama
A307 Molecular Oncology and Cell Signaling 2 2 Tadashi Yamamoto Course retires AY2023
A308 Epigenetics 3 2 Hidetoshi Saze
A310 Computational Neuroscience 2 2 Erik De Schutter
A312 Sensory Systems 3 2 Izumi Fukunaga
A313 Cognitive Neurorobotics 1 2 Jun Tani
A314 Neurobiology of Learning and Memory I 3 2 Jeff Wickens
A315 Quantifying Naturalistic Animal Behavior 3 2 Sam Reiter
A316 Neuronal Molecular Signaling 3 2 Marco Terenzio
A318 Neurobiology of Learning and Memory II 3 2 Kazumasa Tanaka From AY2024, this course moves to term 2
A319 Microbial Evolution and Cell Biology 1 2 Filip Husnik
A320 The Cell Cycle and Human Diseases 2 2 Franz Meitinger
A321 Macroevolution 2 2 Lauren Sallan
A409 Electron Microscopy 3 2 Matthias Wolf
B08 Physics for Life Sciences 2 2 Bernd Kuhn
B10 Analytical Mechanics 1 2 Mahesh Bandi
B11 Classical Electrodynamics 2 2 Tsumoru Shintake
B12 Statistical Physics 2 2 Nic Shannon
B13 Theoretical and Applied Fluid Mechanics 2 2 Pinaki Chakraborty
B14 Theoretical and Applied Solid Mechanics 3 2 Gustavo Gioia
B20 Introductory Evolutionary Developmental Biology 2 2 Hiroshi Watanabe
B21 Biophysics of Cellular Membranes 3 2 Akihiro Kusumi
B23 Molecular Evolution 3 2 Tom Bourguignon
B24 Neuromotor Systems 2 2 Marylka Yoe Uusisaari
B27 Molecular Biology of the Cell 1 2 Keiko Kono
B29 Linear Algebra 1 2 Liron Speyer Alternate years course, AY2025
B30 Surface Sciences 2 2 Yabing Qi
B31 Statistical Tests 2 1 Tomoki Fukai
B33 Organic Photonics and Electronics 1 2 Ryota Kabe
B34 Coral Reef Ecology and Biology 3 2 Timothy Ravasi
B35 Genetics and Modern Genetic Technologies 1 2 Tomomi Kiyomitsu
B36 Introduction to Real Analysis 1 2 Xiaodan Zhou Alternate years course, AY2024
B37 Introduction to embodied cognitive science 2 2 Tom Froese Enrollment cap of 9
B38 Human Subjects Research: A Primer 1 2 Gail Tripp
B40 Introduction to Polymer Science 1 2 Christine Luscombe
B41 Fundamentals of Ecology 1 2 David Armitage
B42 The Diversity of Fish 1 2 Vincent Laudet
B44 Stellar Physics 1 2 Shigehiro Nagataki
B46 Introduction to Machine Learning 1 2 Makoto Yamada
B48 Introduction to Complexity Science 2 2 Ulf Dieckmann
B49 Dynamical Systems 2 2 Mahesh Bandi Alternate years course, AY2023
B50 Introduction to Scientific Computing 1 2 Kenji Doya NEW for AY2024
B51 An introduction to Quantum Mechanics, Quantum Optics and Quantum Science 1 2 Bill Munro NEW for AY2024
B52 Introductory Neuroscience 1 2 Yukiko Goda NEW for AY2024