Board of Councilors

Name Position
* Yoko Aniya Professor Emeritus, University of Ryukyus
* Akito Arima Chairman, Japan Science Foundation
Chancellor, Musashi Education Institution, Nezu Education Foundation
President, Shizuoka University of Art and Culture
Monte Cassim President, Graduate School of Leadership and Innovation, Shizenkan University
Mary Collins Dean of Research, OIST
Erik De Schutter Chair of the Faculty Assembly/Council, OIST
Machi Dilworth Vice President for Gender Equality & Human Resource Development, OIST
Yoshiharu Doi CEO, Japan Synchrotron Radiation Research Institute
Ralph Eichler Former President, ETH Zurich
Ali Ganjehlou Vice-President for Buildings and Facility Management, OIST
Frederick Gilman Buhl Professor of Theoretical Physics, Department of Physics, Carnegie Mellon University
Director, McWilliams Center for Cosmology
Ryo Hirasawa Chief Director, Institute for Future Engineering
Professor Emeritus, University of Tokyo
Member, Administrative Council, Japan Advanced Institute of Science and Technology
Keith Hodgson Chairperson, Department of Chemistry, Stanford University
Irene Hirano Inouye President, U.S.-Japan Council
Tisato Kajiyama Board Chairman and President, Fukuoka Women's University
Former President, Kyushu University
Yoshihisa Kawakami Chair, Okinawa Development Finance Corporation
Nasser Kazeminy Chairman of the National Ethnic Coalition of Organizations (NECO)
Masaki Masudo Member, Okinawa Promotion Council, Cabinet Office, Government of Japan
Special Advisor, Uipath K.K.
Ryo Matsumoto Professor Emeritus, University of Tokyo
Professor, Organization for the Strategic Coordination of Research and Intellectual Properties, Meiji University
Emi Matsushima General Counsel, OIST
Reiko Ann Miura-Ko Co-founding Partner, Floodgate
Yoshimi Nagahama Mayor, Onna Village
Robert Nakasone Worldwide Uchinanchu Business (WUB) Network Founder-Advisor
Lee James O’Riordan Computation Research Scientist, the Irish Center for High-End Computing (ICHEC)
Ken Peach Professor Emeritus, the Particle Therapy Cancer Research Institute, Oxford
Milind Purohit Dean of Faculty Affairs, OIST
Katsuhiko Shirai Honorary Advisor of Waseda University
President, The Open University of Japan
Former President, Waseda University
Former Chairman of Okinawa Development Council
Ulf Skoglund Dean of Graduate School, OIST
David Swinbanks Chairman, Springer Nature, Australia
Founder, Nature Index
Senior Advisor, Digital Science
Vice President, Nikkei Science
Keiji Takanashi Vice-President for Finanancial Management, OIST
Fuji Takayasu Former Assistant PR Officer of the US Consulate in Okinawa
Nobuaki Tanaka Former Under Secretary General at the UN Headquarters
CEO, GaiaContact
Moritake Tomikawa Vice Governor, Okinawa Prefectural Government
Gail Tripp Vice President for University Community Services, OIST
*Albrecht Wagner Chairman Emeritus, Board of Directors, DESY
Eriko Wauke Principal of Kindergarten, Okinawa AMICUS International
Hideo Yamasaki Professor, Faculty of Science, University of the Ryukyus
Philip Yeo Chairman, EDIS (Economic Development Innovations Singapore Pte Ltd) & Chairman, Accuron Technologies Ltd  
Keisuke Yoshio Chief Operating Officer, OIST
Jürgen Zöllner Executive Board, Stiftung Charité 

* Four persons also serve on the OIST Board of Governors.