Friday, 16. September 2022 - 17:00

OIST Participates in the Science Summit at the 77th UN General Assembly

The Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology (OIST) is participating in the Science Summit at the 77th United Nations General Assembly held September 13 to 30, 2022.

The theme of this year’s summit is “The Role of Science and Innovation in Attaining the United Nations’ Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).” It will feature scientific presentations, keynote addresses, panel discussions, and workshops to promote collaboration between scientists, policymakers, academics, philanthropists, and citizens all in an effort to address critical global challenges. The 8th annual Science Summit will take place in New York and online. This event is hybrid and admission-free.

OIST and its co-host, the Permanent Mission of Japan to the United Nations, are proud to present seven session from Japan. Speakers with a variety of expertise and backgrounds, including university presidents, a former ambassador, authors, and experts, will address and discuss a wide range of topics.

OIST-Related Programs

“The Little Island that Could”: Advancing Science In and Outside of Okinawa Through Partnerships *Japanese with simultaneous English interpretation

Tuesday, September 20, 7:00 a.m. –9:30 a.m. (EDT) / 8:00 p.m. – 10:30 p.m. (JST)

Speakers:

  • Mutsumi Nishida, President of the University of the Ryukyus
  • Izuru Senaha, Energy Engineering Professor, University of the Ryukyus, and Entrepreneur
  • Yoshihiro Hanashiro, President of the Okinawa Churashima Foundation
  • Olga Elisseeva, Founder of HerLifeLab, a start-up supported by OIST/ Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology’s accelerator program

Moderator: Yoko Shima, Editor-in-Chief, Ryukyu Shimpo newspaper

Okinawa has established robust partnerships that bring together science, industry, and local communities in an effort to attain sustainable island communities where nature and culture coexist in harmony. In this session, speakers will discuss Okinawa's unique culture of "Yuimaru" or mutual support, with the aim of raising awareness of Okinawa’s unique efforts to attain the SDGs.

 

Allies, Advocates, and Partners: Communicating Social and Environmental Issues Effectively *English only

Tuesday, September 20, 9:00 a.m. – 10:30 a.m. (EDT) / 10:00 p.m. – 11:30 p.m. (JST)

Speakers:

  • Betsy Reed, Leadership Mentor, Sustainability strategist
  • Heather Young, Vice President for Communication and Public Relations, OIST

This “fireside chat” will discuss leveraging relationships with allies, advocates, and partners to help build reputation and legitimacy, develop accountability, and ensure that risk is not being created by greenwashing or purpose-washing. Discussion topics will include how to engage more stakeholders, provide deeper perspectives, improve communication skills, and garner attention through unexpected collaborations.

 

Investing in Science, Investing in Humanity *English only

Wednesday, September 21, 8:00 a.m. – 9:00 a.m. (EDT) / 9:00 p.m. – 10:00 p.m. (JST)

Speakers:

  • Peter Gruss, President and CEO, OIST
  • Tomoko Otake, Senior Writer, The Japan Times

This session will discuss how countries can restore their competitiveness in science and technology, and the global importance of investing in research excellence for the benefit of humanity.

 

ROZ: Supporting Scientific Careers through Inclusivity, Interactivity, and Internationalism *English only

Monday, September 26, 1:00 p.m. – 2:00 p.m. (EDT) / Tuesday, September 27, 2:00 a.m. – 3:00 a.m. (JST)

Speakers:

  • Paola Laurino, Assistant Professor, OIST
  • Peter Gruss, President and CEO, OIST
  • Erika Fukuhara, OIST Student
  • Thato Mokhothu, OIST Student
  • Saacnicteh Toledo Patino, OIST Postdoctoral Scholar

The sooner that early-career scientists learn the codes and customs that shape science as a profession, the better chance they have for developing strong, independent research careers. This presentation will describe “Rosalind Franklin: A Forum for Female Scientists (Open to All),” which brings together early-career researchers with experienced practitioners to provide concrete counsel and useful answers to career-shaping questions.

 

Other Programs from Japan

Valuing Value: How any Organization Can Measure Stakeholder Value and “Ethical Capitalism” *English and Japanese with simultaneous interpretation

Monday, September 26, 9:00 a.m. – 11:30 a.m. (EDT) / 10:00 p.m. – 12:30 a.m. (JST)

Speakers: Trista Bridges, Haruko Satoh, Toshiya Hoshino, Masato Yamazaki, Yoshie Sugai, Jin Montesano

Moderators: Philip Sugai, Professor, Doshisha University

 

Decolonizing Science and Moving to Inclusive Science *English only

Tuesday, September 27, 9:00 a.m. – 11:30 a.m. (EDT) / 10:00 p.m. – 12:30 a.m. (JST)

Speakers: Asha de Vos, Tana Joseph

Moderator: Thilina Heenatigala, Director of Communications, The Tokyo Institute of Technology Earth-Life Science Institute (ELSI)

 

The Trust Landscape in Japan and Implications for SDGs *English with simultaneous Japanese interpretation

Wednesday, September 28, 7:00 a.m. – 8:00 a.m. (EDT) / 8:00 p.m. – 9:00 p.m. (JST)

Moderator: Meghan Barstow, President and CEO, Edelman Japan

 

 To attend the programs

Registration is required through the UN Science Summit website

https://sciencesummitunga.com/agenda/

Go to “Tickets” on the above website, choose the number of participants you wish to enroll for the program, click “Register,” and insert the requested information.

Admission: Free

By Tomomi Okubo


For press inquiries, please contact media@oist.jp.