Hiroyuki Fujita

Hiroyuki Fujita
Hiroyuki Fujita
Founder and CEO, Quality Electrodynamics, LLC
CTO, CT-MR Division, Canon Medical Systems Corporation (CMSC)
Faculty of Science & Engineering (transferred), Waseda University, Tokyo, Japan (1987-1988)
B.A. Mathematics and Physics, Monmouth College, Illinois, USA (1988-1992)
Ph.D. Physics, Case Western Reserve University, Ohio, USA (1992-1998)



Current Positions

2006-present Founder and CEO, Quality Electrodynamics, LLC (QED) (OH)
2019-present Chief Technology Officer, CT-MR Division, Canon Medical Systems Corporation (CMSC), Tochigi, Japan (QED became a subsidiary of Canon Inc. in 2019)
2009-present Adjunct Full Professor of Physics, Case Western Reserve University (CWRU) (OH)
2011-present Adjunct Full Professor of Radiology, School of Medicine, CWRU (OH)
2009-present Adjunct Full Professor, School of Information Technology and Electrical Engineering, The University of Queensland, Australia
2018-present Honorary Consul of Japan in Cleveland, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Government of Japan

Employment History

1991 Research Assistant, Solid State Division, Oak Ridge National Laboratory (TN)
1993-1997 Research Assistant, Department of Physics, CWRU (OH)
1997-2000 Staff Scientist, Magnetic Resonance Division, Picker International, Inc. (OH)
2000-2003 Manager of Research and Development, USA Instruments, Inc. (USAI) (OH)
2001-2005 Adjunct Associate Professor, Department of Physics, CWRU (OH) 
2003-2009 Adjunct Associate Professor of Electrical Engineering, School of Information Technology and Electrical Engineering, The University of Queensland, Brisbane, Australia
2003-2005 3-Tesla Segment Engineering Program Manager, GE Healthcare, USAI (OH)
2005-2010 Adjunct Associate Professor of Radiology, Department of Radiology, CWRU (OH)
2005-2007 Senior Research Associate, Director of MRI and Imaging Physics, Dept. of Physics, CWRU (OH)
2005 Director of Engineering, GE Healthcare, USAI (OH)
2006-present Founder, President, and Chief Executive Officer, Quality Electrodynamics, LLC (OH)
2014 Senior Fellow, International Society of Magnetic Resonance in Medicine (ISMRM)

Board Appointments

2008-present Advisory Board, Inamori International Center of Ethics and Excellence, CWRU (OH)
2011-2019 Department of Radiology External Advisory Council, University Hospitals Case Medical Center and School of Medicine, CWRU (OH)
2011-2017 Board of Trustees, Hawken School (OH)
2011-2014 Board of Directors, Great Lakes Science Center (OH)
2011-present International Affairs Visiting Committee, CWRU (OH)
2011-2012 Board of Directors, Achievement Centers for Children (OH)
2011-present Board of Directors, Global Cleveland (OH)
2011-present Board of Trustees, Musical Arts Association (MAA) and The Cleveland Orchestra (OH)
  • Strategic Advisory Group (2020-present)
  • Executive Committee (2017-present)
  • Patron Experience Committee (2015-present)
  • Marketing Oversight Committee (2015-2017)
2012-2019 International Community Advisory Committee, The Cleveland Museum of Art (OH)
2012-2013 Research and Technology Commercialization Visiting Committee, CWRU (OH)
2012-2022 Board of Directors, The Cleveland Foundation (OH)
  • Chair, Governance Committee (2019-present)
  • Audit Committee (2019-present)
  • Grantmaking and Community Engagement Committee (2016-present)
  • Chair, Finance and Administration Committee (2016-2018)
2013-2017 U.S. Manufacturing Council for U.S. Secretary of Commerce, U.S. Department of Commerce (D.C.)
  • International Trade and Tax Policy Subcommittee, U.S. Manufacturing Council (2013-2015)
  • Co-Chair, Energy Policy Subcommittee, U.S. Manufacturing Council (2015-2017)
2013-2016 Local Leadership Council, Business Forward (D.C.)
2013-present Board of Trustees, Cleveland Clinic Hillcrest Hospital (OH)
  • Chairman of the Board (2020-present)
  • Governance Committee (2020-present)
2012-2013 Corporate Visiting Committee, CWRU (OH)
2015-2017 Steering Committee, VeloSano, Cleveland Clinic (OH)
2016-present Board of Councilors, The U.S.-Japan Council (D.C.)
2016-present Board of Trustees, The Ohio State University (OH)
(Appointed by Governor John R. Kasich; Term: 26 August 2016 – 13 May 2024)
  • Chairman of the Board (2022-present)
  • Research, Innovation & Strategic Partnership Committee (2021-present)
  • Chair, Talent, Compensation and Governance Committee (2020-present)
  • Chair, Governance Committee (2019-2020)
  • Presidential Search Sub-Committee (2019-2020)
  • Chair, Talent and Compensation Committee (2018-2022)
  • Audit, Compliance, and Finance Committee (2018-present)
  • Academic Affairs, Student Life & Research Committee (2016-present)
  • Trustee, Wexner Medical Center (2016-present)
2016-2020 Presidents Visiting Committee, CWRU (OH)
2019-present Board of Directors, Cleveland Council on World Affairs (OH)
2019-present Board of Trustees, The Country Club (OH)
2019-present Board of Directors, Greater Cleveland Partnership (OH)
2019 President's Commission on Philanthropy, CWRU (OH)
2020-present Director, Cleveland Clinic Ohio Regional Hospitals Board of Directors (OH)
  • Executive Committee of the Board of Directors (2020-present)
2020-present Board of Trustees, Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology Foundation (NY)
2020-present Physics Strategic Advisory Group, CWRU (OH)
2021-present Board of Trustees, The Kelvin and Eleanor Smith Foundation (OH)