OIST’s Board of Councilors welcomes two new members

Mariko Hasegawa and Hiroyuki Motonaga will help cultivate OIST’s further success.

OIST’s Board of Councilors welcomes two new members

The Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology (OIST) is pleased to welcome Dr. Mariko Hasegawa and Hiroyuki Motonaga as the newest additions to its Board of Councilors. The BOC is responsible for providing opinions on specified matters and submitting them to the President and CEO of the university. It also plays an important role by responding to inquiries from and providing opinions to the Board of Governors, which oversees OIST’s operations.

Zoologist and anthropologist Dr. Hasegawa has held a variety of positions in research institutions and the Japanese government, as exemplified by her role as the President of the Graduate University for Advanced Studies, SOKENDAI, from 2017 to 2023. She currently serves as the President of Japan’s Art Council, an organization dedicated to promoting the artistic and cultural scene in Japan. Dr. Hasegawa has also worked as the Outside Director of Shinetsu Kagaku Co. and as a Visiting Researcher at Tokyo Metropolitan Institute for Medical Studies. Her extensive list of accolades includes the Hidaka Award from the Japanese Society for Animal Behavior in 2012 and the Orders of the Rising Sun, Gold Rays with Neck Ribbon, in 2023. In the realm of academia, Dr. Hasegawa’s primary areas of research are behavioral ecology, evolutionary psychology, and physical anthropology. 

Born in Okinawa, Mr. Motonaga is the President and CEO of the Okinawa Electric Power Company, Incorporated (OEPC), an electric utility that is involved in the production, transference, and distribution of electricity. By revenue, it is the largest electric company in Okinawa. Mr. Motonaga leads the OEPC’s initiatives towards achieving carbon neutrality and signed a memorandum of understanding with OIST to promote sustainable energy efforts in March. He also serves as the chairman of the Okinawa Association of Corporate Executives (Okinawa Keizai Doyukai) and the Representative Director of the Okinawa Future Creation Council. 

OIST President and CEO, Dr. Karin Markides, looks forward to the pair’s contributions as members of the BOC. “Dr. Hasegawa’s and Mr. Motonaga’s impressive resumes speak great volumes about their admirable work ethics and leadership abilities. Their experience and commitment to excellence will play significant roles in the advancement of our university.” 

OIST would also like to extend sincere appreciation to the departing BOC members, Nasser Kazeminy and Mitsuru Omine, for their invaluable service in shaping the university’s progress.

Written by Aytek Abdulla

For press enquiries:
Press Inquiry Form

Share on: