Tuesday, 26. October 2021 - 16:53

OIST BOG member Dr. Motoko Kotani, President-Elect for the International Science Council

Dr. Motoko Kotani, member of the OIST Board of Governors (BOG) has been elected as President-Elect of the International Science Council (ISC) at the 2nd ISC General Assembly, which was held on October 14, 2021. She will take her presidency in 2024.

The ISC is an international non-governmental organization that works to provide a global voice for science. The Governing Board is a central decision-making body of the Council.

Dr. Rita Colwell, OIST BOG member, says, “As a former member of ISC’s predecessor, the International Council of Scientific Unions (ICSU) Governing Board, I am truly delighted that Motoko Kotani will serve as the new President-Elect of the International Science Council. Congratulations and best wishes to Motoko.  The ISC will be in very good hands!”

OIST President and CEO Dr. Peter Gruss joins Dr. Colwell on behalf of OIST to congratulate, saying, “I am glad to see that Motoko, a valuable member of BOG, will take the leadership in this important body for the world science. Her advice to shape the future of OIST will have an even broader view now.“

Dr. Motoko Kotani, President-Elect of the International Science Council. She is serving as a member of OIST Board of Governors.

About the ISC

The International Science Council (ISC) works at a global level to catalyze and convene scientific expertise, advice and influence on issues of major concern to both science and society. The ISC was created in 2018 as the result of a merger between the International Council for Science (ICSU) and the International Social Science Council (ISSC). It is the only international non-governmental organization bringing together the natural and social sciences and the largest global science organization of its kind.


About the OIST Board of Governors

The Board of Governors, chaired by Dr. Cherry Murray oversees the implementation of all the business conducted by the OIST School Corporation. Its members consist of world-renowned scientists including Nobel Laureates. For more information: https://www.oist.jp/board-governors

By Tomomi Okubo

For press inquiries, please contact media@oist.jp.