Ben L. Feringa

Ben L. Feringa
Ben L. Feringa
2016 Nobel Prize in Chemistry
Jacobus H. van’t Hoff Distinguished Prof of Molecular Sciences, Stratingh Institute for Chemistry University of Groningen
1978 Ph.D. (Organic Chemistry), University of Groningen


1978 Research Scientist at Shell in the Netherlands and the UK
1984 Lecturer, University of Groningen
1988 Professor, University of Groningen
2004 Jacobs H. van’t Hoff Distinguished Professor of Molecular Sciences, University of Groningen (-present)


2004 Foreign Honorary member, American Academy of Arts and Sciences
2006 Member, The Royal Netherlands Academy of Sciences
2008 Academy Professor, The Royal Netherlands Academy of Sciences
2010–2016 Chair Netherlands Science Foundation, Chemical Division
2011 Hans Fischer Honorary Fellow, Institute for Advanced Studies, TU Munchen (-present)
2011–2016 Vice-president, Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts & Sciences (KNAW)
2017 Co-Director of Feringa Nobel Prize Scientist joint Research Center, ECUST, Shanghai, China (-present)
2019 Member, European Research Council
July, 2021 Member, Board of Governors, Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology School Corporation (-present)


2008 Night of the Order of the Netherlands Lion by Queen Beatrix of the Netherlands
2003 Körber European Science Award
2004 Spinoza Award
2005 Prelog Gold Medal
2007 Norrish Award of the ACS
2008 Paracelsus Medal
2009 Chirality Medal
2011 RSC Organic Stereochemistry Award
2012 Humboldt Award
2013 Nagoya Gold Medal
2015 ACS Cope Scholar Award
2015 Chemistry for the Future Solvay Prize
2016 August-Wilhelm-von-Hoffman Medal
2016 Nobel Prize in Chemistry
2017 Tetrahedron Prize
2018 European Chemistry Gold Medal
2018 Foreign Member Academy of Science Bologna Institute, Bologna, Italy
2019 Member of the German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina, Germany
2019 Member of the US National Academy, USA
2020 Foreign Member of Royal Society, London, UK