Board of Governors

OIST Graduate University Board of Governors

The Board of Governors, which consists of world-renowned scientists including Nobel Laureates, oversees the implementation of business conducted by the corporation.

Dr. Yoko Aniya

Professor Emeritus, University of the Ryukyus 

Dr. Akito Arima

President, Shizuoka University of Art and Culture
Chancellor, Musashi Education Institution, Nezu Education Foundation
Director, Science Museum

Dr. Robert Baughman

Executive Vice President for Sustainable Development of Okinawa/Vice-CEO/Professor, Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology Graduate University

Dr. Curtis Callan

James S. McDonnell Distinguished University Professor, Princeton University

Dr. Rita Colwell

Distinguished Professor, Johns Hopkins University Bloomberg School of Public Health
Distinguished Professor, University of Maryland, College Park

Dr. Jonathan Dorfan

President/CEO, Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology Graduate University

Dr. Jerome Friedman

1990 Nobel Prize in Physics
Professor, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Dr. Serge Haroche

2012 Nobel Prize in Physics
President, Collège de France

Dr. Motoko Kotani

Director, WPI-AIMR, Tohoku University

Dr. VijayRaghavan Krishnaswamy

Distinguished Professor, National Centre for Biological Sciences, Tata Institute for Fundamental Research, Bangalore, India
Secretary, Department of Biotechnology, Government of India

Dr. Kiyoshi Kurokawa

Visiting Professor, National Graduate Institute for Policy Studies

Dr. Yuan T. Lee

1986 Nobel Prize in Chemistry
President Emeritus, Academia Sinica

Mr. Koji Omi

Chairman of Science and Technology Society Forum
Former Minister of Finance

Dr. Hiroko Sho

Member, University of the Ryukyus Management Council
Board of Councilor, Okinawa Science and Technology Promotion Center

Dr. Albrecht Wagner

Acting CEO, OIST School Corporation & Acting President, OIST Graduate University Chairman Emeritus, Board of Directors, DESY

Dr. Torsten Wiesel

1981 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine
President Emeritus, the Rockefeller University
Chairperson, Board of Governors, OIST SC

icon_link Meeting Summaries