Serge Haroche

Serge Haroche
Serge Haroche
2012 Nobel Prize in Physics
President, Collège de France
1971 PhD Paris VI University (Physics)


Serge Haroche is a physicist, born in 1944 in Casablanca. He graduated from Ecole Normale Supérieure (ENS), receiving his doctorate from Paris VI University in 1971. After a post-doctoral visit to Stanford University (1972-73), he became full professor at Paris VI University in 1975, a position he held until 2001, when he was appointed Professor at Collège de France (in the chair of quantum physics). He has also been Maître de Conference at Ecole Polytechnique (1974-1984), visiting professor at Harvard (1981), part time professor at Yale University (1984-1993), member of Institut Universitaire de France (1991-2000) and chairman of the ENS Department of Physics (1994-2000). From 2012 to 2015, he has been President of the Collège de France. Serge Haroche has made important contributions to the field of quantum optics and quantum information science. He has received many prizes and awards, culminating with the 2012 Nobel Prize in Physics (shared with David Wineland) for “ground breaking experimental methods that enable measuring and manipulation of individual quantum systems”.

Work Experience

1975 Professor, Paris VI University (until 2001)
1981 Visiting Professor, Harvard University (until 1981)
Sep 1982 Professor, Ecole Normale Supérieure, Paris (until 2001)
1984 Part-time Professor, Yale University (until 1993)
1991 Member, Institut Universitaire de France (until 2001)
1994 Chairman, ENS Department of Physics (until 2000)
2001 Professor, Collège de France
2012 President, Collège de France (until 2015)
2015 Professor Emeritus, Collège de France (-present)


1983 Member, French Physical Society (-present)
  Member, European Physical Society (-present)
1988 American Physical Society, Member in 1988, Fellow in 1990
1993 Member, Academie des Sciences (-present)
2009 Member (Foreign associate), Brazilian Academy of Sciences (-present)
2009 Member, European Academy of Sciences (-present)
2010 Member (Foreign associate), National Academy of Sciences, USA (-present)
Oct 2015 Member, Board of Governors, Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology School Corporation (-present)


1971 Prix Aimé Cotton of the French Physical Society
1980 Loeb Lecturer at Harvard University
1983 Grand Prix de Physique Jean Ricard of the French Physical Society
1988 Einstein Prize for Laser Science (Industrial and University Research Affiliates)
1992 Humboldt Award, Germany
1993 Michelson Medal of the Franklin Institute, Philadelphia
1993 EPS Travelling Lecturer
2000 Manne Siegbahn Lecture, Stockholm
2001 Tomassoni award of La Sapienza University, Rome
2002 Quantum Electronics Prize of the European Physical Society
2002 Quantum Communication Award of the International Organization for Quantum Communication, Measurement and Computing and Tamagawa University, Japan
2007 Townes Award of the Optical Society of America
2007 Gra Cruz Ordem Nacional Do Merito Cientifico, Brazil
Jun 2009 CNRS Gold Medal
2009 Advanced Research Grant from the European Research Council
2010 Herbert Walther Award of the German Physical Society and Optical Society of America
Dec 2012 Nobel Prize in Physics