Erwin Neher

Dr. Erwin Neher
Erwin Neher
1991 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine
Emeritus Director, Max Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry
1970 Ph.D. (Physics), Institute of Technology, Munich
1967 M.Sc. (Physics), University of Wisconsin
1965 Vordiplom (Physics), Institute of Technology, Munich


1966 Graduate student and research assistant, the laboratory of Dr. W. W. Beeman, University of Wisconsin, Madison (until 1967)
1968 Graduate student and post-doc, the laboratory of Dr. H.D. Lux, Max-Planck-Institute für Phychiatrie, Munich (until 1972)
1972 Research Associate, Max-PlanckInstitute für biophysikalische Chemie, Dept. “Molekularer Systemaufbau”, Göttingen (until 1975)
1975 Research Associate as a guest, the laboratory of Dr. Ch. F. Stevens, Yale University, Department of Physiology (until 1976)
1976 Research Associate, Max-Planck-Institut für biophysikalische Chemie, Göttingen (until 1982)
1989 Fairchild Scholar, California Institute of Technology
1983 Director, Membrane Biophysics Department, Max-Planck-Institut für biophysikalische Chemie, Göttingen (until 2011)
2011 Emeritus Director, Max Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry (-present)


1995 Chairman, the Scientific Steering Committee of the ‘Red Sea Program’, a joint research program between Israel, Egypt, Jordan and Palestine (until 1999)
2000 Member, the European Research Advisory Board (EURAB), installed by the European Research Commissioner Philipe Busquin (until 2006)
2004 Member, the Advisory Group for ‘Thematic Priority I’ of the 6th Framework Program (EU) (until 2006)
2008 Member, the ERC Neuroscience Panel (until 2012)
2005 Member, the Board of European Neuroscience Institute, Göttingen (until 2012)
June, 2018 Member, the Board of Governors, Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology School Corporation (-present)


1966 Fulbright scholarship and research assistantship at the University of Wisconsin
1968 Scholarship of “Studienstiftung des deutschen Volkes”
1977 Nernst-Haber-Bodenstein Award of the German Society for Physical Chemistry
1979 Feldberg Award, Feldberg Foundation, London
1982 K.C. Cole Award, Biophysical Society
1982 Harold Lamport Award, New York Academy of Sciences
1983 Spencer Award, Columbia University
1984 Adolf Fick-Preis, Universität Würzburg
1986 Louisa Gross-Horwitz Award, Columbia University
1986 Fidia Research Award Lecture, Fidia Research Foundation
1986 Schunck-Preis, Universität Giessen
1986 Leibniz Award, Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft
1989 International Research Award, Gairdner Foundation, Tronto
1990 Hans Hellmut Vits-Preis, Universität Münster
1990 Niedersachsenpreis, Hannover
1990 Bristol-Myers Squibb Research Award, New York
1991 Gerard Prize, Society for Neuroscience, Washington
1991 Carus-Preis, Stadt Schweinfurt, Leopoldina
1991 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine, Stockholm
1992 Faye Robiner Award, Ross University, West Indies
1995 Member of the order ‘Pour le Mérite’ of arts and sciences
1997 Großes Bundesverdienstkreuz m. Stern und Schulterband
1998 Gold medal ‘Medicus Magnus’ of the Polish Academy of Medicine
2004 Sir Bernhard Katz Award, Biophysical Society, USA
2004 Karl Küpfmüller Ring of the Technical University Darmstadt
2005 ‘Einstein Professor’ of the Chinese Academy of Sciences, Beijing
2007 Premio Catedra Santiago Grisolía, awarded by the ‘City of Arts and Science Foundation’ Valencia
2014 Premio Capo d’Orlando, Vico Equense (Neapel, Italien)
2014 Polish Chemical Society Medal, Torún