Rita Colwell

Rita Colwell
Rita Colwell
Distinguished Professor, Johns Hopkins University Bloomberg School of Public Health
Distinguished Professor, University of Maryland, College Park
May 1961, Ph.D (Oceanography), University of Washington


May 1961 Ph.D (Oceanography), University of Washington

Work Experience

January, 1991 President, the University of Maryland Biotechnology Institute (until March, 1998)
August, 1998 11th Director, United States National Science Foundation (NSF) (until March, 2004)
2004 Distinguished Professor, University of Maryland, College Park (-present)
2004 Distinguished Professor, Johns Hopkins University Bloomberg School of Public Health (-present)

Social Activities, Services

1984 Member, the National Science Board (until 1990)
1984 President, American Society for Microbiology (until 1985)
1995 President, American Association for the Advancement of Science (until 1996)
August, 1998 Co-chair of the Committee on Science of the National Science and Technology Council (until March, 2004)
1998 Director, National Science Foundation (until 2004)
2004 Chairman and Senior Vice-President, Canon U.S. Life Sciences, Inc. (until 2006)
2004 Chairman, Science Advisory Board, Governor of Maryland (until 2008)
2005 Member, Board of Trustees, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institute (until 2014)
2006 Senior Advisor and Chairman Emeritus, Canon, U.S. Life Sciences, Inc. (-present)
2006 Member, International Advisory Committee, Japan Science and Technology Agency (-present)
2006 Member, President’s Council, University of Tokyo (-present)
2007 Member, Board of Trustees, Mathematical Biosciences Institute, Ohio State University (-present)
January, 2008 President, the American Institute of Biological Sciences (until December, 2008)
November, 2011 Member, Board of Governors, Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology School Corporation (-present)
2012 Chair, Committee on Women in Science, Engineering, and Medicine, NAS (until 2014)
2013 President, Rosalind Franklin Society (-present)


May, 1985 Fisher Award of the American Society for Microbiology
1990 Gold Medal Award of the International Institute of Biotechnology Canterbury, england
1992 Triennial National Scholar Award, Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi
2001 American Association of University Women 2001 Achievement Award
2006 The Order of the Rising Sun, Gold and Silver Star, Japan
2007 2006 National Medal of Science, U.S.A.
2013 William Procter Prize for Scientific Achievement, Sigma XI
2014 Prize Medal, Society for General Microbiology